“Violinist David Nebel steals the show in a breathtaking rendition of Ernst’s Othello Fantasy” recognized the Strad Magazine (Feb 2016) in its report on the CD “Italian Journey”. The CD was recorded by the LGT Young Soloists under the renowned label RCA Red Seal (Sony Music).

David Nebel, born 1996 in Zurich, started to play the violin at the age of five. His exceptional talent became apparent very early. “A prodigy with future perspective” («Wunderkind mit Zukunftsperspektiven») was the headline in the Neue Zürcher Zeitung.

David first attended the Conservatory of Zurich and studied later with Professor Boris Kuschnir in Vienna and Professor Yair Kless in Graz. Since 2013 he has been studying with Professor Alexander Gilman, the leader of the LGT Young Soloists. David was a founding member of this string ensemble of highly gifted musicians. Numerous tours have led him through Europe and Asia.

In March 2017 David performed as one of the soloists in the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra fall season opening. In Summer 2018, David made his debut at the Kissinger Sommer festival with Kristjan Järvi and the Baltic Sea Philharmonic Orchestra playing the world premiere of the Violin Concerto No. 1 (2018) by Gediminas Gelgotas. As a soloist, David has already appeared on many famous stages, such as Liederhalle Stuttgart, Kulturcasino Bern, Palais Liechtenstein Vienna, Gasteig Munich (including a live recording by the Bavarian broadcast), Shenzhen Concert Hall, China Pavillon Shanghai, Cape Town City Hall and Philharmonic Hall of Chernihiv.

David`s upcoming album releases include his recording of I. Stravinsky`s Violin Concerto with the Baltic Sea Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Kristjan Järvi; as well as his recording of the Violin Concerto No. 1 by P. Glass and Kristjan Järvi`s “Nebula” with the London Symphony Orchestra, also conducted by Kristjan Järvi.

In 2014 David achieved a remarkable success as the youngest prize winner of the renowned Valsesia Musica Violin Competition in Italy. This is to be followed by the first prize of the Istvàn Kertész competition in Switzerland with a CHF 10`000 scholarship in 2015. In January 2017, he won the competition of the Radio-Television Belgrade Symphony Orchestra for young soloist together with Dusan Kostic playing Bottesini`s Gran Duo Concertante for violin and double bass.

David Nebel is a 2018 Fellow of the Young Artists Foundation gGmbH in Germany. He plays on a 1707 Antonio Stradivari violin, loaned by a private foundation.

“Violinist David Nebel steals the show in a breathtaking rendition of Ernst’s Othello Fantasy” war im Strad Magazine (Feb 2016) über die CD “Italian Journey” zu lesen. Die CD wurde von den LGT Young Soloists für das renommierte Label RCA Red Seal (Sony Music) aufgenommen.

David Nebel, geboren 1996 in Zürich, begann mit fünf Jahren Violine zu spielen. Schon sehr früh wurde sein außergewöhnliches Talent entdeckt. "Wunderkind mit Zukunftsperspektive" lautete die Überschrift eines Artikels in der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung.

Zunächst besuchte David das Konservatorium Zürich und studierte später bei Prof. Boris Kuschnir in Wien sowie bei Prof. Yair Kless in Graz. Seit 2013 studiert er bei Prof. Alexander Gilman, dem Leiter der LGT Young Soloists. David war Gründungsmitglied dieses Streichensembles mit hochbegabten Solisten. Zahlreiche Tourneen führten ihn durch Europa und Asien.

Im März 2017 eröffnete er als einer der Solisten die Herbstsaison des Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra. Im Sommer 2018 debütierte er beim Kissinger Sommer Festival mit Kristjan Järvi und dem Baltic Sea Philharmonic Orchestra mit einer Uraufführung des Violinkonzertes Nr. 1 (2018) von Gediminas Gelgotas. Darüber hinaus ist David solistisch bereits auf wichtigen Konzertbühnen aufgetreten, unter anderem in der Liederhalle Stuttgart, im Kulturcasino Bern, im Palais Liechtenstein Wien, im Gasteig München (mit Livemitschnitt des Bayerischen Rundfunks), in der Shenzhen Concert Hall, im China Pavillon Shanghai, in der Cape Town City Hall in Südafrika und in der Philharmonie von Chernihiv.

Seine Einspielung von I. Stravinskys Violinkonzert mit dem Baltic Sea Phrlharmonic Orchestra unter der Leitung von Kristjan Järvi sowie die Einspielung von Kristjan Järvis „Nebula“ und des Violinkonzertes Nr. 1 von P. Glass mit dem London Symphony Orchestra ebenfalls unter der Leitung von Kristjan Järvi werden demnächst erscheinen.

Einen beachtlichen Erfolg erzielte David 2014 als jüngster Preisträger des renommierten Valsesia Musica Violinwettbewerbs in Italien. Dem folgte 2015 ein mit einem Stipendium von 10.000 CHF verbundener 1. Preis beim Istvàn Kertész Wettbewerb in der Schweiz. Zuletzt gewann er im Januar 2017 mit Dusan Kostic den Wettbewerb des Radio Sinfonieorchester Belgrad für junge Solisten mit Bottesinis Gran Duo Concertante für Violine und Kontrabass.

David Nebel ist ein 2018 Fellow der Young Artists Foundation gGmbH. Er spielt auf einer privat gestifteten Antonio Stradivari Violine aus dem Jahre 1707.